News from the Aurora University community

Top AU students recognized for academic achievements and campus contributions

Posted by on April 19, 2013

Senior Natalie Jansen accepts the Kenneth Olenik Social Science Award from Dr. Saib Othman, Dean of the College of Arts and Sciences.

Congratulations to the Aurora University students, faculty and staff who were recognized at the annual Honors Convocation on Friday, April 19 for their academic achievements and campus contributions during the 2012-2013 school year.

David Aquino, a senior accounting major, received the Spartan Award, the top annual student honor. Aquino will give the keynote address during the undergraduate commencement ceremony at 2:30 p.m. on Saturday, May 5. Voted on by faculty, the Spartan Award is presented to a graduating senior who has a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or above and has made an outstanding contribution to university life in the areas of leadership and community service.

University awards and recognition

  • Spartan Award: David Aquino
  • Lincoln Laureate: Monica De Iorio
  • Jim Scott Award: 2011-2012: Women’s Soccer Team and Baseball Team
  • John McKee Citizenship Award, Student: Melissa Burian
  • John McKee Citizenship Award, Faculty: Johnny Lloyd, Professor of Biology

AUSA Awards

  • Meritorius Faculty Award: Terry Shapiro, Assistant Professor of Psychology
  • Student Advocate Award: Tracy Lief, Catering Manager
  • AU Senior Award: Lizzette Cambron

College of Arts and Sciences awards

  • Ethel Tapper Humanities Award: Rosa Casas
  • Stanley H. Perry Performing Arts Award: Patricia Liu
  • Eleanore and Samuel McFarlane Biology Award: Phillip VanDyke
  • Kenneth Olenik Social Science Award: Monica De Iorio and Natalie Jansen

College of Education awards

  • Golden Apple Award: Travis Boyd
  • National Association for Sport and Physical Education Major of the Year: Alecia Spangler

College of Professional Studies awards

  • The Dunham School of Business, Jennifer Worzala Award for Academic Excellence in Business and Leadership: Daniel Evans
  • The School of Nursing, Sharon Beverly Award: Tudor Buzuloiu
  • The School of Nursing, Gertrude Banaszak Award: Mary Carmel Filip
  • The School of Nursing, John Alexander Leadership Award: Ruthmarie MacKenzie
  • The School of Social Work, George Williams Legacy Social Work Award: Ariana Carlson