News from the Aurora University community

Tom Cross joins Aurora University

Posted by on May 11, 2015

Tom Cross, Distinquished Fellow at Aurora UniversityFormer Illinois House Republican Leader Tom Cross has joined Aurora University as a Distinguished Fellow.

Cross’ primary role will be to promote an innovative STEM education program.

“Aurora University is most fortunate to have Tom Cross join us as a distinguished fellow,” said Aurora University President Rebecca L. Sherrick, PhD. “His decades of public service and his keen insights into government policy will be invaluable to our students and my administration. We share a passion for STEM education. I look forward to Tom’s advocacy for our innovative STEM Partnership School, which fosters science and math education for third through eighth-grade West Suburban students while providing advanced education programs and degrees for their teachers—creating a sustainable learning community.”

The Distinguished Fellow position is supported by a grant from the Dunham Fund, the largest private foundation in the greater Aurora area.

“We’re proud to support yet another important initiative that will improve our schools and our communities,” said Bob Vaughan, Executive Director of the Dunham Fund. “I look forward to helping Tom build on the groundbreaking success of the first year for the John C. Dunham STEM Partnership School at AU.”

Cross, a lawyer and former Kendall County prosecutor, served in the Illinois General Assembly for 22 years. A protégé of former U.S. House Speaker J. Dennis Hastert, Cross was Illinois House Republican Leader from 2002 until 2013 when he stepped down from his leadership post to run for Illinois State Treasurer. As the Republican candidate in the general election, Cross lost by two-tenths of one percent in the closest election of 2014. Along the way, he garnered the endorsements of major statewide business and civic groups including the Illinois State Chamber of Commerce, several of the state’s leading newspapers and, as testament to his bipartisan appeal, from current and former Democrat officeholders.