Posted by Aurora University on November 4, 2013
Construction on the Ellsworth and Virginia Hill Welcome Center and the Schingoethe Museum at Aurora University began in mid-October, and is expected to continue for the next 10 months. When completed, the Hill Welcome Center will serve as the central gathering place for prospective students, alumni and current students. The building will house space for classes, meetings, dinners and receptions, and will extend the tradition of hospitality for which the university is known. The 75-seat recital hall will be named in honor of Ethel Tapper, alumna from the class of 1937 and longtime professor and librarian at the university.
The Schingoethe Museum wing in the Welcome Center will showcase the collections of the Schingoethe Center for Native American Cultures, provide opportunities for cultural exhibitions and display the rich history of the university and the Fox Valley community in large gallery spaces.
In addition to Ron and Worth Hill naming the building for their parents, other donors to the building include the Community Foundation of the Fox River Valley, which continued its generosity to the university by naming the main entry gallery, Aurora University’s Class of 1965, the Furnas Hansen Foundation and several members of the university’s Board of Trustees.
For more information, visit alumni.aurora.edu.
Aurora University is an inclusive community dedicated to the transformative power of learning, annually educating more than 4,800 degree-seeking students at the bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral levels. The university has a long tradition of preparing students for lives of service and leadership, and using its resources and expertise to meet the needs of the community. In addition to its main campus in Aurora, Ill., AU offers programs online, at its George Williams College campus in Williams Bay, Wis., and at the Woodstock Center in downtown Woodstock, Ill. Learn more at aurora.edu.