News from the Aurora University community

Men’s lacrosse team ranked No. 1

Posted by on March 20, 2017

The 2017 men’s lacrosse team returned to the field this season ranked No. 1 in the Midwest Lacrosse Conference (MLC). They have done so after last year’s record 17–3 season, which resulted in its fourth straight MLC championship and its fourth consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III men’s lacrosse Sweet Sixteen.

Four-time MLC Coach of the Year Kylor Berkman leads the Spartans. He enters the 2017 season with an overall record of 76–23 and 40–1 in conference play. The Spartans lost their last game against an MLC opponent in 2012.

Will Bradshaw of Gahanna, Ohio

Will Bradshaw of Gahanna, Ohio

Like the women’s team, the AU men’s team this year returns several key performers, notably Jason Koziol (Sr., Att.) Matt Smidlein (Sr, Mid.) and  Trevor McNamara (Jr., Att.).

“One of biggest strengths this year will be our veteran leadership,” Berkman said. “From an offensive standpoint, our top eight scorers are all back. We have an offense that is familiar with and has confidence in each other. Defensively, we only lost one player and we had three freshmen starting. Now they have a year under their belts and we are looking forward to seeing how they have progressed from last year’s campaign.

“Our ability to win ground balls, maintain possession, and score effectively and efficiently will help us against top-level competition” he said.