News from the Aurora University community

Annual high school art show recognizes local talent

Posted by on January 7, 2013

Sara Corcoran, Photography

By Sara Corcoran, Photography

The Schingoethe Art Gallery at Aurora University opened its annual high school art show today, which features the works of students at nearby Aurora Christian High School. The show highlights the work of 45 students, including drawings and photography, chosen by the high school’s Art Instructor Grahame Wilkin, Aurora University’s Professor of Arts and Theatre Steve Lowery, and Assistant Professor of Art and Theatre Libby Escobedo.

“Early in the history of the art gallery, we wanted to create a space that would serve as a community gallery as well as a place that brings in cutting-edge artists,” said Meg Bero, Director of the Schingoethe Center. “The art show is one of many ways that AU supports the arts in the Fox Valley. We give high school students a unique opportunity to exhibit in a professional gallery, and the show strengthens the university’s connections to our local secondary schools.”

The annual high school art show also affords local students the opportunity to earn scholarships that can be applied to full-time enrollment at AU. Each entry is judged by Bero and a panel of AU art faculty, and prizes are awarded for excellence in technique and creativity. The winner of Best in Show receives a $1,500 scholarship, which is renewable over their four-year career at the university. Additional scholarships are awarded to first, second and third place entries.

An awards ceremony and opening reception will take place on Thursday, January 24 at 4:30 p.m. The works will be on display through Friday, January 25, 2013.

Visitors can view the collection during normal gallery hours. Gallery hours are 8 a.m.–9 p.m. Monday through Thursday; 8 a.m.–5 p.m. Friday; and 1–4 p.m. Sunday.

For more information, call 630-844-7843, email or visit

Participating Students: Peter Allcorn, Jo Jo Beck, Joelle Beck, Lauren Bird, Melissa Clapp, Sarah Corcoran, Jackson Covey, Nolan Czerwinski, Jacob Dewey, Jenny Dhan, John DiCicco, Kyrstin Francis, Jamie Gebauer, Ashley Goeken, Laikin Green, Steve Hall, Jackson Hayes, Megan Henderson, Jacqueline Hilger, Jessica Holmberg, Lu Jin, Mandy Jungels, Anna Kanai, Alyssa Koch, Kiffer Lindoo, Katie Mayhew, Emily McDonald, Hannah Morkert, Melissa Moser, Teresa Murray, Matthew Oberling, Alexandra Ondrus, Sabrina Parr, Alex Popp, Abby Pruitt, Adriana Saliu, Roger Show, Katie Son, Sarah Sykstra, Ripley Vonhoff, Peyton Wade, Kirsten Ward, CJ Williams, Joey Zuardo and Jordan Zwolski.